Welcome to
Smit Sewgoolam

Smit Sewgoolam Incorporated has a rich and proud history. Since the firm’s establishment, we have branched out, amalgamated, went through a name change and eventually settled on our current identity on 1 February 2005.

During this time, Smit Sewgoolam has established itself as a trustworthy and respected law firm within corporate South Africa, working closely with its clients and stakeholders in order to achieve optimal results, whilst always employing a pragmatic approach to ensure sustainable development and growth of its human resources.

Experience has shown us that having an open and transparent relationship with clients gives us the peace of mind and freedom to focus on our main objective: delivering high quality legal services and advice.

With a professional staff complement comprising of 8 directors and 12 attorneys, ably assisted by a large support staff, we have the confidence, experience and expertise to advise and assist our clients in all our specialized areas of practice.


Corporate and Commercial Litigation


Labour and Employment Law

Family Law

Property Law, Conveyancing & Notarial Services

Administration of Deceased Estates


People in our firm

Years experience

Cups of coffee with clients

Our Team

Rachelle Freed

E-mail: rachelle@smitsew.co.za

Ravika Sukdeo

E-mail: ravika@smitsew.co.za

Rikesh Sewgoolam

E-mail: rikesh@smitsew.co.za

Tiaan Jonker

E-mail: tiaan@smitsew.co.za

Arilia Du Plessis

E-mail: arilia@smitsew.co.za

Bouwer van Niekerk

E-mail: bouwer@smitsew.co.za

Johannes Engelbrecht

E-mail: johannes@smitsew.co.za

Jacques Marais

E-mail: harold@smitsew.co.za

Latest News

Register as a credit provider when selling property?

It often happens during a sale of immovable property that the parties agree to a deferred payment of the purchase price. The purchaser will then pay the purchase price in instalments and the seller will charge interest on the outstanding amount from time to time...

Insolvency and voluntary sequestration

The term “insolvency” relates to both sequestration (for individuals and trusts) and liquidation (for companies and close corporations). Sequestration can either be effected by voluntary sequestration or compulsory sequestration. This article will deal with voluntary sequestration ...

MSI Global Alliance is one of the world’s leading international associations of independent legal and accounting firms.

Contact Us

Tel: 011 646 0006
Fax: 011 646 0016
E-mail: info@smitsew.co.za

Follow Us

Blog Categories

Recent Posts

Newsletter Sign-up

Copyright © Smit Sewgoolam Inc | Powered by SucceedGroup